Rubber Band Propeller. Suggestions?

Ask questions about projects relating to: aerodynamics or hydrodynamics, astronomy, chemistry, electricity, electronics, physics, or engineering
zeronos

Rubber Band Propeller. Suggestions?

Post by zeronos »

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting around here.

I'm building the common self propelled car project. My current source of power right now is using rubber bands to twist the axels of the car. However, I am near finished and have some extra time (a couple weeks, to be precise), so I am interested in adding a little extra power to my vehicle.

Anyone know of an effective way to attach and perhaps construct a propeller powered by rubber bands? Power and longevity of the propeller would be most appreciated. If this helps, the body of the car is similar to that of a 2 liter soda bottle.

Thanks in advance.
..I can't think of anything at the moment
zeronos

Post by zeronos »

I'm sorry for posting twice in a row.

In addition, I am seeking a goal of 75 meters for my car. Right now, it's averaging about 50-60 meters.
Craig_Bridge
Former Expert

Post by Craig_Bridge »

How much does your "car" weigh (or what is its mass)?

Even the best propellers aren't very efficient propulsion systems so unless you have an extremely light vehicle, you might do better at refining your existing design.

Is there any way to shave off any more weight without loosing structural integrity? This will probably have the biggest payoff.

Is there a way to increase traction if there is any initial spining of the wheels? If you are spinning your wheels at the start, this will be another big payoff.

Is there a way to increase the power supplied by the rubber bands?

Is there a way to decrease friction of the bearing surfaces?

Is there a way to decrease drag by making the design more aerodynamic?
-Craig
zeronos

Post by zeronos »

Uh, my new car is about 110 grams, made mostly of plastic.