Help with electronics

Ask questions about projects relating to: aerodynamics or hydrodynamics, astronomy, chemistry, electricity, electronics, physics, or engineering
saraf_nikhil

Help with electronics

Post by saraf_nikhil »

Im a high school student....DESRIPTION: I have arranged a device consisting of circular magnets which rotates in a magnetic field for about 2-3 minutes once given a triggering torque. Please tell me if there could be an electronic device which can trigger the same without consuming too much electricity.....
THANK YOU
EDS
Former Expert

Re: Help with electronics

Post by EDS »

Hello,

I'm sure there's a solution out there, but it may depend on exactly what you need.

If you want to start with a non-moving spinner and trigger it just once, a small solenoid could work. (A solenoid is basically an coil of wire and a little ferromagnetic piston. When you apply a voltage across the wire, it creates a magnetic field that makes the piston move. Some have springs or fancier mechanisms that allow them to move back and forth.)

You could also try to use magnets and a coil of wire to nudge it directly, although it might take some experimention to find a way to do that without interfering with your magnetic suspension.

If you need to keep the spinner going continually, it's going to be a little more difficult. In order to give it a mechanical push, you'd probably have to somehow sense the spiner's position so that it gets pushed at the right time. You could do that, for example by using a LED and a photo-diode to sense the position of spokes on the spinner, but it would require using some circuitry.

An easier option might be to gently blow air on the side of the spinner so as to give it a constant push in the right direction. A small muffin fan with some cardboard channels and or plastic tubes to guide the airflow to the right place could work.

Best,
Erik
--
Erik Shirokoff
Science Buddies
Ask an Expert Program
saraf_nikhil

Thanks