Vermicompost (Worm Poop)

Ask questions about projects relating to: biology, biochemistry, genomics, microbiology, molecular biology, pharmacology/toxicology, zoology, human behavior, archeology, anthropology, political science, sociology, geology, environmental science, oceanography, seismology, weather, or atmosphere.

Moderators: AmyCowen, kgudger, bfinio, MadelineB, Moderators

Vermicompost2761

Vermicompost (Worm Poop)

Post by Vermicompost2761 »

Hello whoever is reading this, I am a middle school student performing an experiment on worms, to see which conditions worms make the best quality compost. I typically spend 3 hours a day feeding my worms and recording observations, such as pH, % castings, and worms found in the sample taken out. I use pH test strips to measure the pH ( meant for soil), my eye to estimate castings %, and my ability to count to record how many worms there are. Oh yeah, I also record weight of the product taken out. I always feel like I am not precise enough with my measurements sometimes ( castings %).

What can I do to be more precise?

-A science nerd middle schooler
hummch
Former Expert

Re: Vermicompost (Worm Poop)

Post by hummch »

Hi Vermicompost 2761,

It sounds like you are working very hard to produce accurate scientific data, a habit that will long serve you! Your composting experiment is a great idea especially as we move forward to a more sustainable future.

Determining the percent of casting with your eye is not necessarily inaccurate as long as you are being consistent with every analysis (i.e. also counting questionable castings versus never counting them). However, if you would like to be more precise, you could weigh the compost, then take out the castings and weigh them, and lastly, weigh the remaining soil. This will likely take more time, but it would provide you with more precise percentages and ratios.

Good luck with your project, and let us know if you have any further questions!
Cat
Vermicompost2761