Swimming in Acid: understanding ocean acidification

Ask questions about projects relating to: aerodynamics or hydrodynamics, astronomy, chemistry, electricity, electronics, physics, or engineering.

Moderators: AmyCowen, kgudger, bfinio, MadelineB, Moderators

kimpey12

Swimming in Acid: understanding ocean acidification

Post by kimpey12 »

Hello,

I am a Grade 8 student. I did this experiment with mussel and clam shells at both room (22 deg. C) and fridge (2 deg. C) temperatures. I had three jars for each sample - a total of 24 jars. My regular seawater had a pH of 8.1 and my acidified water had a pH of 7.5. The shells were in the jars for one month and I did not open the jars for the entire month. I dried all the shells overnight before weighing them. My results were as follows:

1. At room temperature, both mussel and clam shells had a greater loss of weight in the regular seawater than the acidified seawater. Unexpected result!

2. At the cold temperature, this effect was reversed. At the cold temperature, both the mussel and clam shells had a greater loss of weight in the acidified water than the regular seawater.

3. At room temperature, the mussel shells had a greater loss of weight than the clam shells in both types of water.

4. At the cold temperature, this result was also reversed. At the cold temperature, the clam shells lost more weight than the
mussels in both types of water.

5. Overall, room temperature water had a greater loss of weight than the cold water for both types of shells and both types of water.

Could you please offer any advice or guidance on how to interpret my data? I think an error was maybe to not retest the pH at the end of the experiment. Is it possible that the pH of the water changed over the month? Does temperature affect pH?

I am thinking of rerunning my experiment, but opening the jars every week to test if the pH is staying constant or not? I would appreciate any input or suggestions you could offer to me.

Thank you!