Invention Idea

Ask questions about projects relating to: computer science or pure mathematics (such as probability, statistics, geometry, etc...).

Moderators: AmyCowen, kgudger, bfinio, MadelineB, Moderators

zr416

Invention Idea

Post by zr416 »

Our big eight grade project is an invention convention, where we have to think of solutions to problems. For my project, I wanted to do a fingerprint locker. I was wondering what materials would I need for that, and what experience would that require, software programming, coding, etc. Also as a back up I had an idea for a kinetic energy phone charger, would you be able to tell me materials I would need, and if I should have experience with computers for these kinds of inventions, or can I learn as I build- because I am a complete beginner when it comes to coding. The project is due in a month but I must submit my idea in 3days. Would you recommend going through with these inventions as a beginner or go with something more simple? Thank you!
bfinio
Expert
Project Question: Expert
Project Due Date: n/a
Project Status: Not applicable

Re: Invention Idea

Post by bfinio »

Hi zr416,

I'm not entirely sure what you mean by "fingerprint locker" - do you mean a physical lock that you can open with your fingerprint? There are electronic fingerprint scanners you can buy but building something functional with them would require a good deal of electronics and programming experience, so might be a little ambitious for a first-time project:

https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11792

If you wanted to, for example, do something with a fingerprint scanner on a smartphone, there is an app called MIT App Inventor that makes it easy for beginners to program smartphone apps (I'm not sure if it allows you to use a phone's fingerprint scanner, you would have to look around their website):

http://appinventor.mit.edu/explore/