Science Fair Project - Radiology Student

Ask questions about projects relating to: biology, biochemistry, genomics, microbiology, molecular biology, pharmacology/toxicology, zoology, human behavior, archeology, anthropology, political science, sociology, geology, environmental science, oceanography, seismology, weather, or atmosphere.

Moderators: AmyCowen, kgudger, MadelineB, Moderators

radscience
Project Question: How to simply show proof that antioxidants can protect against radiation.
Project Due Date: November 2015
Project Status: I am just starting

Science Fair Project - Radiology Student

Post by radscience »

I am a Radiology student and will be having a science fair project due in November.

Here are the details:
Radiation creates more free radicals in your body, and that is what makes it dangerous. Antioxidants help reduce the damage from free radicals.

There is a new theory out there that if you drink some antioxidants before being radiated in high doses, it will reduce the damages to your body. The best antioxidants according to scientists that already did this experiment used ascorbic acid and glutathione. After radiating the blood, they tested the blood for repair enzymes. The more repair enzymes meant that there were more damage to the cells.

I have access to radiation, and someone to draw blood for us. But where I am stuck is, how to give blood cells more antioxidants and how to measure repair enzymes.

Can we just put a drop of blended kale and lime juice into our blood sample and will the cells absorb more antioxidants? Or will that kill the cells because of change in pH?

Also, how can you test for repair enzymes? Is there any simple, cost effective way of testing that?

Another way of testing cell damage would be to watch the cells over time during division and watch for any damages during the metaphase and count the percentage of cells damaged, But I don't know how accurate that would be.

Any suggestions?

Thanks
MadelineB