Data collection in Drugs & Genetics Project

Ask questions about projects relating to: biology, biochemistry, genomics, microbiology, molecular biology, pharmacology/toxicology, zoology, human behavior, archeology, anthropology, political science, sociology, geology, environmental science, oceanography, seismology, weather, or atmosphere.

Moderators: AmyCowen, kgudger, MadelineB, Moderators

bsteele72

Data collection in Drugs & Genetics Project

Post by bsteele72 »

Hello, this is my first year in my school’s Science Research class, and I have chosen to do the Science Buddies project “Drugs & Genetics: Why Do Some People Respond Differently Than Others?” for science fair. After looking through the project and doing my background research focused on the drug Carbamazepine, I am worried that the data is not sufficient for my project. I am unsure of what research question I would be answering since all the information I am collecting is already known. Right now I have “How do specific gene mutations affect a person’s response to Carbamazepine?” If there’s any way you could help me figure out a better research question or adjust the type of data that I’m collecting, I would be incredibly grateful! Like I said, this is my first year, and I don’t know what my data section entirely needs. I also don’t know what I would write in my conclusion section because I don’t know what the data is supporting or how to answer the research question since it has already been answered before.

-Brooklyn
SciB
Expert
Occupation: Retired molecular biologist, university researcher and teacher
Project Question: I wish to join Scibuddies to be able to help students achieve the best science project possible and to understand the science behind it.
Project Due Date: n/a
Project Status: Not applicable

Re: Data collection in Drugs & Genetics Project

Post by SciB »

Hi Brooklyn and welcome to Scibuddies.