How to reconcile the 5v circuit with the 12v circuit?

Ask questions about projects relating to: aerodynamics or hydrodynamics, astronomy, chemistry, electricity, electronics, physics, or engineering

Moderators: kgudger, bfinio, MadelineB, Moderators

meideolian

How to reconcile the 5v circuit with the 12v circuit?

Post by meideolian »

I am just getting started in electronics and, for a bit of background, have managed to put together a few simple projects based on well documented examples:
  • intervalometer based on 555 timer
    arduino-based home climate sensor network with web server (not from kit)
Now I would like to combine two existing commercial products but I am a little lost about how to combine the two circuits without any reference circuit, so I need a kick in the right direction. I have a really dark stairway with no lighting (and I'm only renting) so I have a few battery operated motion sensor lights there. The batteries recently died in all of them. They only last a few months on 3xAAAs, and they are not bright enough in the first place. I also have a set of 12v LED strips with an AC adapter. I want to join them together so that either motion sensor at the top or bottom of the stairs can trigger all of the LED strips. The strips will stay lit only for the duration of the motion sensors' onboard timers (10 or 60sec selectable).

The LED light strips:
The LED light strip comes in two 16" pieces and is powered by a single 12v AC-DC adapter rated to 800mA. I measured 330mA for the combined strips and verified about 165mA with just one LED strip in operation.
The PIR motion sensors: