Genetic Algorithm project ideas?

Ask questions about projects relating to: computer science or pure mathematics (such as probability, statistics, geometry, etc...).

Moderators: kgudger, bfinio, Moderators

monsterbasher
Project Question: Computer science/engineering related
Project Due Date: 1/15/14
Project Status: I am just starting

Genetic Algorithm project ideas?

Post by monsterbasher »

Hi, i'm currently trying to hatch a innovative and original idea to potentially enter at the ISEF. Looking around the field of computer science/engineering, the field of AI and Genetic Algorithms caught my eye. Since I have little to no prerequisite knowledge on AI(besides intermediate knoweldge in programming), could anyone give me pointers on where to start researching and what a good practical application would be for it, particularly in the Physics area?
BenG
Former Expert
Project Question: Interested in providing feedback/guidance to students in need
Project Due Date: n/a
Project Status: Not applicable

Re: Genetic Algorithm project ideas?

Post by BenG »

Hi Monsterbasher

Cool topic idea! Sorry it looks like none of the mentors has been able to answer your question (at least not so far....). In a situation like that, what I would recommend is to look at research ongoing in academic departments bioinformatics, computational biology, biophysics, and physics departments, using genetic algorithms or related methods. E.g., here are some examples since 2013 from google scholar:
http://scholar.google.com/scholar?as_yl ... as_sdt=0,5

And here is a paper that describes a genetic algorithm package in R, a commonly used open source statistical software:
http://www.jstatsoft.org/v53/i04/paper

And here are papers that cite the above methods paper:
http://scholar.google.com/scholar?oe=ut ... 1995843124

Wish I could help more, but I don't have experience in genetic algorithm's, nor am I a physicist...
Best
BenG
hhemken
Former Expert

Post by hhemken »

Hi Monsterbasher,