Would this work as an engineering project?

Ask questions about projects relating to: computer science or pure mathematics (such as probability, statistics, geometry, etc...).

Moderators: kgudger, bfinio, Moderators

bridgeyman
Project Question: Engineering project developing technology to educate through simulation.
Project Due Date: ISEF Project
Project Status: I am just starting

Would this work as an engineering project?

Post by bridgeyman »

I am completely stuck on what I feel is the hardest part of science fair, coming up with a topic. I have been working on one outside project that I would love to continue as an engineering project, but I am not sure if it is "science fair material."

So, first a little bit of background. I am a volunteer programmer at the Christa McAuliffe Space Education Center (http://spacecamputah.org), in Pleasant Grove, Utah. It is not very well known, but perhaps Terik has been there. It is a very unique place where they have space simulators set in the future, and kids come of field trips to run a "mission," like observing a supernova or cracking down on a drug ring. It is a lot of fun, but its main purpose it to be educational. Through the stories that are told, the students can learn about different issues, like slavery, and also get experiences in teamwork and leadership.