Colors and Absorption of Heat

Ask questions about projects relating to: aerodynamics or hydrodynamics, astronomy, chemistry, electricity, electronics, physics, or engineering

Moderators: AmyCowen, kgudger, bfinio, MadelineB, Moderators

aquarian-nrp
Project Question: I am studying how various colors absorb and reflect light. My experiment is a 2 part process. For the first part, I wrapped mason jars (filled with water) with different colored paper and exposed them to a heat lamp for a set amount of time. The second part was similar, except I used food coloring instead of a paper wrap. Why did my results show the food coloring warmer than the paper wrap for the same color?
Project Due Date: 18 Mar 2014
Project Status: I am finished with my experiment and analyzing the data

Colors and Absorption of Heat

Post by aquarian-nrp »

My experiment was testing the the heat absorption of colors. I used glass quart canning jars with water, lid, and a heat lamp. I wrapped quart jars with various colors of construction paper and then set each jar 18" from a heat lamp for 30 minutes and measured the temperatures at the end of 30 minutes. (Each jar was done one at a time).

For a second test, I used glass quart canning jars, with lids, but colored the water with food coloring and did not wrap the jar with construction paper.

The heat temperatures for the jars containing water and food coloring were anywhere from 7-9 degrees higher than the jars that I wrapped with construction paper. (Same test was used, 18" from heat lamp, lids, and heat for 30 minutes).

I would like to know if my hypothesis is correct that the construction paper acted as an insulator and/or filter of the heat light and that is why the jars covered with construction paper had lower temperatures than the jars without construction paper, but colored water.