Ocean Pollution Australia

Please post requests for answers to "interview" questions in this forum (only). Responses are not guaranteed, and requests that fail to follow Science Buddies' rules regarding interviews will be not be addressed.

Moderators: AmyCowen, kgudger, bfinio, MadelineB, Moderators

mikaylam

Ocean Pollution Australia

Post by mikaylam »

I am currently a year 11 student taking part in the research project subject. My main focus questions is based around ocean pollution and I was wondering if you would be able to answer a few questions, if you could it would be greatly appreciated.

Questions:

1. Do you believe Australia is taking enough action to reduce the amount of pollution in the ocean?
2. What type of pollution do you believe is causing the most marine life fatalities and marine environment damage?
3. What do you trust is the most sustainable way to manage ocean pollution in Australia?
4. Do you think Australians need to be more educated about the effects of ocean pollution?

:D
MadelineB
Project Question: Interested in volunteering as an expert
Project Due Date: n/a
Project Status: Not applicable

Re: Ocean Pollution Australia

Post by MadelineB »

Hello Mikaylam and welcome to Science Buddies,

I'm definitely not an expert on ocean pollution but a colleague of mine who has experience in marine fisheries in Australia has graciously offered some comments to your post:
In general, I'd say that Australia is about the same at plastic and micro-plastic pollution as most similarly developed countries, but we're doing something about that, now. Single use plastic bags are now illegal in most states, for example, and plastic drink bottles in most states are returnable, for the refund of a pretty stiff deposit.