Measuring Soil Moisture: I need help moving forward please!!

Ask questions about projects relating to: biology, biochemistry, genomics, microbiology, molecular biology, pharmacology/toxicology, zoology, human behavior, archeology, anthropology, political science, sociology, geology, environmental science, oceanography, seismology, weather, or atmosphere.

Moderators: AmyCowen, kgudger, bfinio, MadelineB, Moderators

3fc4719169504da59b1e225a70ed5dd5

Measuring Soil Moisture: I need help moving forward please!!

Post by 3fc4719169504da59b1e225a70ed5dd5 »

Hello, I am an eighth grade student working on science fair. I have the idea to make a sort of "soil x-ray". The concept is a sort of tool to be able to see the water/moisture levels in soil. The idea being to measure it qualitatively instead of with a hygrometer. I have researched the concept of x-ray machines. They use electromagnetic radiation, which is supposedly similar to visible light except with higher energy. This higher energy allows the picture to see through certain, less dense, objects. I was thinking if I could somehow make the water be (or seem) more dense than the soil it is in, I could use the same technology (just tweaked quite a bit) as an x-ray to create the image, being able to see the water in the earth. Maybe if this didn't work, I could find the atomic energy in water and it hopefully being cooler or hotter than soil, use night vision mechanics to see the difference in water in soil. I would like a soil scientist to help me move forward to see if this idea of mine would work. Please and thank you!

Thank you,
Charlotte

Moderator note: I'm cross-posting this to the Physical Sciences forum, in case one of those experts has some ideas. I've also add the words "measuring soil moisture" to your title to give your post more visibility.
SciB
Expert
Occupation: Retired molecular biologist, university researcher and teacher