plastic to fuel working model

Ask questions about projects relating to: aerodynamics or hydrodynamics, astronomy, chemistry, electricity, electronics, physics, or engineering.

Moderators: AmyCowen, kgudger, bfinio, MadelineB, Moderators

Snigdha210905

plastic to fuel working model

Post by Snigdha210905 »

We have our science fair coming up soon and we have decided to make a plastic to fuel pyrolysis machine. Also, we have decided to make the machine in such a way that it can be programmed and work as a robot. So, we want to know that is it possible to make the robot in such a way? Also what all do we need to do for it? I am a class 8 student.
LeungWilley
Former Expert
Project Question: n/a
Project Due Date: n/a
Project Status: Not applicable

Re: plastic to fuel working model

Post by LeungWilley »

Hi Snigdha210905,
Sounds like a very interesting topic!

Just taking one step back though, can you help me understand what background research you have done so far? Based on the background research that you have completed, it will be of great help in figuring out how to construct the experiments. (I am sorry to say that I am not seeing the connections between the robot and pyrolysis at the moment)

Here's a quick guide:
https://www.sciencebuddies.org/science- ... an#keyinfo

Thanks!
Willey
Snigdha210905

Post by Snigdha210905 »

We can skip the robot part for the time being. So, we have attached the diagram of our appratus. The background research that we have done is that:
it is based on the scientific principle of pyrolysis
the components that are used are mentioned in the attached image.
The problem that we are facing is
we are not able to understand some of the mentioned components and we'd request you to please tell us about the same, the catalyst especially. we are not sure of which substance to be used as catalyst.
and
we also need find out the temp at which the plastic vapours will condense and how can we achieve it.

more about the project: