Getting Started

Ask questions about projects relating to: biology, biochemistry, genomics, microbiology, molecular biology, pharmacology/toxicology, zoology, human behavior, archeology, anthropology, political science, sociology, geology, environmental science, oceanography, seismology, weather, or atmosphere.
Kaylajillian

Getting Started

Post by Kaylajillian »

I am just starting my research project and I need some professional help. I am researching the effects that golf courses have on the Coachella Valley and I was wondering who to go to to get humidity records dating back to at least 20 years and how to get golf course records as well. I am willing to travel 2-3 hours to talk to people so if there is anyone you know might be able to help me (like city council or libraries or something else) please let me know.
I am a Peninsula High School Student in the tenth grade. I am in a Science Research project for my first year so I am still getting used to it. Any help would be appreciated.
Thank you!
MelissaB

Post by MelissaB »

You can find weather data from the North American Regional Reanalysis model (which is what atmospheric scientists use to predict the weather) from 1979-2007 at this website: http://nomads.ncdc.noaa.gov/cgi-bin/ncd ... d_name=221 . It is not very user friendly, but if you know the latitude and longitude of the location you want to study you can get data from it.

You first specify the years of data you want and what times you want those data at. Times are in UTC and in military format (0000=midnight, 0300=3AM, 0600=6AM, etc.), so you'll want to calculate the time change between Greenwich meridian time (UTC) and time at your location. You then click 'build order' and it will take you to the next page, where you need to select 'plot data' (do NOT click 'download', because that will take forever--you are downloading data from every three hours all around the world for many years!).