Crime Scene for a class?

Ask questions about projects relating to: aerodynamics or hydrodynamics, astronomy, chemistry, electricity, electronics, physics, or engineering.

Moderators: AmyCowen, kgudger, bfinio, MadelineB, Moderators

wendylady15

Crime Scene for a class?

Post by wendylady15 »

Hello,
I am a science teacher wanting to the the crime scene lab with my students at the end of our chem unit. If I have two classes of approx 20 students each, how many lab kits will I need? I intend to group them by 3-4 students. Will each group need it's own kit or is it possible to use one kit per two groups? Please advise.
Thank you!

Wendy
MS Science in PA
AmyCowen
Site Admin
Project Question: -
Project Due Date: -
Project Status: Not applicable

Re: Crime Scene for a class?

Post by AmyCowen »

Wendy - This will be such a fun class project!

This is the project you are considering, correct? https://www.sciencebuddies.org/science- ... al-unknown

If so, the question would be, do you plan to have students repeat the experiment.

Because the directions are for a student project, suitable for a science fair, the procedure includes running the test 3 times. (There are three reaction plates.) As noted: "Perform the procedure two more times with clean materials. This will show that your results are repeatable." (So in the student project, the experiment is conducted three times.)

If you don't plan to have students do it three times as a classroom activity, then you could divvy things up differently.... since there are three reaction plates.

There is only one bottle of each of the materials used, so if sharing a kit among multiple groups, they would have to take turns with the materials.

Please do follow up. We would love to hear how this goes!

Amy
Science Buddies
wendylady15

Post by wendylady15 »

Amy!