Comparing the Genomes of Vegetables

Ask questions about projects relating to: biology, biochemistry, genomics, microbiology, molecular biology, pharmacology/toxicology, zoology, human behavior, archeology, anthropology, political science, sociology, geology, environmental science, oceanography, seismology, weather, or atmosphere.
Kelsey Daly

Comparing the Genomes of Vegetables

Post by Kelsey Daly »

To Whom It May Concern:

I am a student doing a project on detmining the phylogenic relationships of different vegetables by comparing their genomes using gel electrophoresis. I have the procedure for the electrophoresis, but I am unsure of the procedure for extracting the DNA from the cells of the specimens. I also would like to know whether or not i need to use PCR to clone the DNA for the electrophoresis, or if I can get enough DNA just from the vegetables themselves.

Thank you for your aide. It is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Kelsey Daly
htb

Re: Comparing the Genomes of Vegetables

Post by htb »

Kelsey,
you won't be able to diretly compare genomes by electrophoresis of extracted DNA- there are several ways to make comparisons by gel analysis: two options are 1) cut the genomic DNA with a series of restriction enzymyes and analyze the fragments by electrophoresis (agarose gels); 2) PCR specific regions of the genome and analyze amplified fragment size

one other thing to keep in mind is that agarose gels are usually visualized by ethidium bromide and UV light- both are dangerous. ethidium bromide is a carcinogen and needs to be disposed of correctly.

As for making DNA extracts, I assume you have access to the tools required. There are protocols are available on the web and from many lab web pages. A few places to start:

http://www.ucs.louisiana.edu/~mrv8332/H ... plants.doc

http://www.sidwell.edu/us/science/vlb5/ ... n_lab.html

http://pubs.nrc-cnrc.gc.ca/ispmb/ispmb17/17053-1.pdf