Having trouble with a decision...

Ask specific questions about careers in science. Questions may be related to information in the Science Careers area of the Science Buddies website or may relate to specific projects or areas of research.

Moderators: AmyCowen, kgudger, bfinio, MadelineB, Moderators

MurphysIT
Project Question: N/A
Project Due Date: N/A
Project Status: Not applicable

Having trouble with a decision...

Post by MurphysIT »

Ok, here is my problem. I'm an Army vet, 32 years old, and about to start College with my benefits. I'm trying to decide on a career field and want to go into the sciences. I'm considering meteorology, oceanography, entomology, paleontology, astronomy, and archaelogy. I've always been pretty solid at school except for math and I'm willing to work hard to overcome this. I have taken college courses before, both online and B&M and done well. Does anyone have any suggestions, or advice? Thank you for your time.
phonghuynh
Former Expert

Re: Having trouble with a decision...

Post by phonghuynh »

Hi,

What you are doing is extremely commendable. I can relate to your struggles in math. In fact, I thought I was going to fail college calculus but ended up passing. I took advantage of the opportunites and resources my college provided. I got tutoring, went to office hours, and visited my school's math center where I extra received help from TA's. Keep your head up always. Stick with it and you will do well. Work on your weaknesses and work on ways to improve. Continue to do practice problems and never give up.

Unless you are naturally gifted, success in math will take determination and persistence. My advice is to keep at it every single day. Utilize resource your school offers. Never be afraid to ask questions.

You can do it!

I was a Microbiology major and graduated despite my weakness in math.

Best,

Phong
MurphysIT

Post by MurphysIT »